top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Bickers

An introduction to EB

Updated: Sep 13, 2019


I have always thought that these kind of posts were meant to be really inspiring and motivational...lets leave that to the professionals.


I suppose this blog is a place for me to showcase my work and reflect on my improvement over the next 3 years.


I'm not 100% sure what this will entail but I'm going for a bit of everything; hard news stories, beauty reviews, and maybe a little travel in the mix, who knows?


Where do I start? My name is Emily Bickers, 21 years old in my first year at the University of Essex studying Multimedia Journalism with the added NCTJ qualification which encompasses Media Law and Public Affairs.


Similarly to people of my age, I have grown up in a generation where social media and the internet are used in day to day lives more than ever.


Social media influencers are a huge part of advertising and marketing which perhaps sparked my interest in the methods behind the media and how it should be done. Although I never knew explicitly what I wanted to do, I knew this interested me.


During my time at school I was never that student that was super smart, or super dumb, I kind of just floated through and kept myself to myself. With that in mind, when I reached year 10 and 11 I began to panic, what am I going to do after my GCSE's are over? All my friends are doing A-levels, should I just do that?


Fast forward to year 12 - for the next 2 years I'd be studying Religion, Ethics and Philosophy, Business Studies, English Literature and Sport. I never knew if I would make it as far as University, but for the time being I was happy to see where my higher education led me.


Completing my 2 years at sixth form was by far one of the best achievements I have made. It had given me the chance to challenge myself in ways I didn't think I could and I actually came away with decent grades.


When I decided to apply for University of Essex it wasn't easy choosing what to study. I knew from my secondary education that I could write, this was also something I enjoyed which is always a bonus. That combined with my interest in the marketing industry gave me a few different paths to explore.


Multimedia Journalism it was.


October 2018

Starting my first term was always going to be daunting, new people, big crowds, lots of information to take in...what am I getting myself into? Have I made the right choice?


I should probably mention that I chose to stay at home whilst studying for my degree. This was a decision I had made very early on in my A-Level education experience as I just didn't want to move away. This made my first term that bit easier for me in comparison to some.


Just to reiterate, I am hoping this blog will be a good place to start in order to create my portfolio and build by confidence in writing about different subject matters.


Thanks for reading!

EB



Jake and I before a family meal in October 2018

2015 Emily

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page