top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Bickers

3 Weeks at BBC Radio Essex

Updated: Sep 13, 2019

Starting from the 14th of June 2019, I started my second work experience placement in Chelmsford. I was set to be there for three Fridays.


After arriving I was greeted by my supervisor, shown round the studio and introduced to most of the team.


For the first Friday I was listening in on the afternoon programme and was shown the process of preparing the hourly news bulletins. I think this was particularly interesting as I was unaware of how much preparation goes into 3 minuet news piece.


21st of June was my second week and I was with the 'Drive time team'. I was introduced to the process which encompasses all the preparation for each hourly news slot. There is also a drive time quiz which takes place on Fridays which was interesting. I was able to schedule interviews for certain times slots during the programme.


My final Friday introduced me to the 'mid morning programme', I was able to watch the programme from start to finishing meeting with the presenter and the producers.


This particular part of my experience I found most enjoyable as I was able to see how the team works together in order to produce a smooth radio show.


The mid morning show is slightly more light hearted than the others as there is a variety of phone-in subjects for listeners to get involved in.


Overall, my experience was very enjoyable, particularly, being behind the scenes of the live shows as I found the process interesting.


I am very grateful for this opportunity and would love to go back.


EB





1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page