top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Bickers

Corfu In April

Updated: May 8, 2019

Thursday 11th of April Jake, Jakes family and I set off for a week in Corfu in aid of Jakes Dad's 60th birthday. With a total of 9 people in tow we were good to go!


We were due to arrive at our accommodation later on that evening so it was going to be a long day. We arrived at about 10pm that night and I wont lie, I was freezing. Where can I get a cup of tea?


Fast forward to the next morning, it was time to explore the town of Acharavi and get to grips on what we would be dealing with for the next 7 days.


There was a supermarket down the road from our apartment - literally 2 minuets away. This was great as we could stock up on things we needed for the week. It also meant we could get breakfast - bacon and egg sandwiches seemed to be the most popular idea - not great for our waist lines, but we're on holiday right?


After breakfast was done we decided to do a little bit more exploring. The town consisted on a few restaurants, bars, coffee shops and clothing stores. There was the odd tourist shop but not many. We knew the beach wasn't far from our apartment so we just needed to find it!


The first few days of the holiday weren't the best in terms of the weather; we had a lot of rain and it was quite cold! This meant we couldn't lounge around the pool all day (much to my disappointment), leaving us with the option of walking along the beach when it wasn't raining. This was actually really enjoyable once you got going! On Monday we walked 8 miles in total!


After a few days the sun did eventually make an appearance making it beautifully hot. I wasn't brave enough to go in the pool but I did paddle my feet in the sea. Maybe next time...


LETS TALK FOOD


On the first night, myself, Jake, Jakes brother and his girlfriend went out for a meal. We decided the best way to decide where to eat was walk through the town and go to whichever one we fancied most....simple right?


We soon realised that there wasn't much choice at all, what with it only being April it wasn't quite the right season for some shops and restaurants to open yet. Thankfully, there were still a few open with different choices of food.


As we continued to walk further in the hope of something grabbing our attention, Jake was getting hungrier by the minuet. We saw 'Angelos' a pizza, pasta and burger restaurant that was open so we bit the bullet and went in.


I was very apprehensive about eating out as a whole because I am lactose intolerant which limits my choice significantly. However, I was pleasantly surprised as the waiter informed me that they offered vegan cheese in their pizza's and burgers. Without going over the top, this was pretty much the best day of my life. I ordered a pizza with tomato, tuna and onion. Happy days.


The rest of the holiday consisted of eating in with Jakes family and eating out at the restaurants nearby.


One restaurant that I thoroughly enjoyed was 'Pita House'. This was where I found my favourite dish ever.


Chicken Souvlaki in a pita with chips and salad...need I say any more? It was divine, so much so that after I found this meal it was all I ate for the rest of the holiday.


What made this dish more amazing was the price, €2.50 for one pita filled with salad and chips. How much better can it get?


Would I go back?


Absolutely! Overall the holiday was great. We had a great time as a family relaxing by the pool (when the sun did come out), walking along the beach and just enjoying ourselves! If I were to return to Corfu I would consider coming in the summer time just because I love the sun.


The food generally was cheap and if you're looking for somewhere to relax and do nothing, Acharavi is the best place!


Below are some pictures of our holiday.


Thanks for reading,

EB







10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page