top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Bickers

Egypt


OUR FIRST HOLIDAY

Jake and I went on our first holiday together in July 2017. Neither of us had been to Egypt before so after speaking with friends, family and Thompson we went ahead and booked it.


Booking the all inclusive holiday with only 17 days to go, we couldn't be more excited. Last minute shopping, stress packing, and double checking our passports 12 times a day was all part of the fun!


Jake and myself were lucky enough to have travelled by aeroplane before so getting there was never really an issue. The flight was around 4.5 hours long which isn't really a long time but it felt like forever! While sat on the plane I indulged in a couple of cups of tea, some biscuits and my book, keeping it EB at all times.


WE HAVE ARRIVED


After arriving at our hotel we were greeted by what can only be described as the BEST group of people who were going to be looking after us for the next 10 days. They couldn't do enough for us! After a few days they knew us by our name and recognised us at meal times with drinks already poured for us at our table. People have said to me before "its the people that can make or break your holiday"; I can safely say that the members of staff we met during our stay completely made our holiday an amazing experience.


As the holiday is in full swing, 40 degree heat, dipping in pool whenever I got too hot, reading my book all day, Jake is doing his own thing - BLISS.


We had a few days out planned with Thompson through our holiday rep. Snorkelling, a lavish boat trip and a submarine dive were our chosen excursions. Each of these experiences were breathtaking, sometimes scary and just generally amazing.


LETS TALK FOOD


As I mentioned before, Jake and I had never been to Egypt before and we weren't sure what to expect when it came to the catering of our hotel. As we soon realised, our dinning options were very limited; due to religious reasons our hotel didn't offer the option of meat. However, there were other options, things like eggs, fruit, bread, pastries were available for breakfast. For lunch and dinner there was always pasta, chips, fish etc.


As the days went on I had decided I really didn't want to go home. I was really enjoying reading my book on the sun and being able to do whatever I wanted.


As this holiday was our first, it will always have special memories. It really was amazing to be looked after by such wonderful people and explore the Red Sea of Hughada.


Here is a small snippet of our time in Egypt.







4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page