top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Bickers

Happily Ever After

Jake and I had the privilege of attending one of Jakes oldest and dearest friends weddings recently in the beautiful countryside that is Stoke-on-Trent.


On April 9th Jake and I travelled up to our hotel accommodation in Derby (about an hour away from the wedding venue - much cheaper hotel room!) which took us around 4 hours in total.


After we arrived it was a quick turn around, we got changed and headed straight out again to TGI Fridays in aid of the grooms side meeting for a meal.


I must mention, I was pleasantly surprised with the menu choices at TGI Fridays as they provide not only Gluten Free choice but also, Lactose Free choices! Not many places offer this as an alternative so, to put it bluntly, I stuffed my face.


Fast forward to the following morning - I feel nervous...why do I feel nervous? Im not getting married.


Around 11am Jake and I are suited and booted ready for the big day. We aimed to leave a little earlier than we really needed to as Jake wanted to see the groom beforehand and make sure it was all hunky dory.


After driving for around an hour we arrive at the venue, and without being over the top, it was absolutely sensational.


Scroll through the pictures below and you'll see what I mean!



The ceremony was due to start at 2pm but we were there earlier than others which gave us enough time to explore the grounds and the manner house the groom's party were getting ready in. It also meant I got a cracking parking space, which is always a bonus.


2pm arrives, everyone is in their seats waiting for the big moment.


Two bridesmaids arrived first and walked down the aisle, then the bride appears looking beautiful (naturally, I cried) and the ceremony was carried out perfectly.


Fast-forward a couple of hours, after some mingling, ice cream (mango sorbet for me), photographs and drinks, we proceed into a gorgeously decorated barn where the rest of the day and night unfolded.


After we sat and ate, it was time for the speeches - there was a lot of laughing involved along with tears.


After all the formalities were out the way, Jake and I danced the rest of the night away until it was time for us to drive home in time for our holiday in Corfu!


It really was a beautiful day, not only because of the venue and weather but because of the people we were surrounded by. It was a real pleasure to witness two people and their families join together for such a special occasion.



Thanks for reading!

EB

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page