top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Bickers

NOT ENOUGH FOOD ON CAMPUS?

In our Practical Journalism session, a class exercise was set to conduct an interview with somebody from the University of Essex. In our group of four, we picked a topic which we thought would be a popular topic for many students as food is very important!

​

I am currently doing what is known as the FodMap Diet, this is a long process of cutting out foods from your diet to figure out what is causing stomach issues. The two main products I was focussing on cutting out were Milk and Gluten (wheat). 

​

With me being a student at University, eating on campus or eating out in general proves to be very difficult. Simple things like grabbing a coffee or a snack can be difficult as some of the shops don't sell the foods I normally have at home, e.g. Soya milk which is one of the many milk alternatives. Another problem I find myself running into frequently is some shops offer soya milk for those who require it or simply prefer it, however, this doesn't necessarily mean it is wheat/gluten free. It is very difficult to find something to eat which doesn't include both of these ingredients. For example, some biscuits are milk free, but they aren't gluten free!

​

Together we devised a list of questions for Tom to ask me, and I would try and answer then as a representation of other students in the same situation as myself. 

​

This was our first attempt with videography and we only used our iPhones. 

​

We tried to use 3 different angles to give the video different perspectives.

Following our previous lectures on how to film an interview, we tried to get 2 different angles of Tom asking the questions, and myself answering the questions, whilst overlapping the audio to add effect.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page