top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Bickers

The Sinking Dingy

What is that saying? “Same old s**t, but a different day?” I think it is fair to say many people can identify with that mind-set mindset with the current position the world and particularly England finds itself in.

Being a third-year student in a very practical based university environment, major disruption has occurred to not only to the logistical side of my learning, but also my productivity levels.


Unfortunately, I am that really annoying student that is always stressed and always wanting to get ahead of the game. However, I do tend to be the one person that knows what is what, which comes in handy for my peers.


In addition to this, I have always been quite motivated to get things done! I find that I am generally in a better head space when I have all my ducks in a row, I know I’m nearly finished with something, even if I tweak it later on, my mind can rest knowing I have something to submit.


Due to my birthday being in December, and a lot of the deadlines falling on that particular date (I know, how annoying) I really want to get things done and out of the way. With that in mind, this year, as we all know, has thrown everyone’s plans out of the window and not many people (including myself) have things to look forward to like we would normally. As a result, this has caused me to feel slightly out of touch with my studies compared to my previous two years at university. I have found that due to staying at home, all the days blur into one and the weeks are rushing past and I am being more unproductive than ever.


The first lockdown of 2020 caused many of us to experience change we really couldn’t have planned for. Things like living arrangements, working from a laptop all day, not being able to leave the house or see friends and family, and the list goes on.

For me, the only real significant change for me was my living situation. Like many couples had to do, my boyfriend, Jake and I made the decision just before the lockdown to decide where I was set to reside for the next few months to keep my family and myself safe.


So, before I knew it, I had relocated to Jake’s parent’s house for the foreseeable future, which isn’t really a shock to the system as I’ve been a piece of the furniture for the last 6 years. But nevertheless, it seemed a bit more daunting this time.

Fast forward to October 2020 and it doesn’t look like we are going to go back to face-to-face teaching - so we will start as we mean to go on: virtually.


In normal circumstances, I am generally up early and ready to crack on with whatever the day has in store. I enjoy the commute into university as it gives me half an hour or so to switch my mind off and sing my heart out - if that’s where the mood takes me. However, without stating the obvious, this is no longer part of my morning routine.


In fact, there is no longer a morning routine. This is something that I have learnt I am not alone in thinking. Speaking with my friends who are in the same boat as me (although it might be sinking) they, too, are feeling the effects of not leaving the house every morning.

Getting ready in the morning and choosing what I’m wearing, even if it is just a hoodie and gym leggings, really does play a part in my productivity levels. Having to attend university and complete work gives me a sense of achievement each day, something that seems pretty absent at the moment.


For a large number of students across the UK, lectures have been able to carry on due to the wizardry of technology. Let’s talk about the reality of students during their Zoom meetings…


Step One: Roll out of bed a few minutes before the call starts to have a wee and get some form of beverage.

Step Two: Ascertain how presentable you look, or if you need to brush your hair or not bother today.

Step Three: Get back into bed, open the laptop up and join the call.

Step Four: Scroll through your phone whilst the lecturer is talking, hoping they don’t ask you for your own thoughts or opinion.

Step Five: Text the group chat asking what the hell is going on?

Step Six: Wait for the call to finally come to an end, close the laptop, forget everything that has been said, until the next week.

Step Seven: Repeat.


Like everyone, I have found coping mechanisms to get through the last few months, not just in my personal life but mainly strategies to get through the final and most important year of my education.


I know I have said I have been really unproductive, but I do find there comes a point where you have no choice but to crack on with it (hence me writing this feature now), and sitting their moaning to your sister on facetime about how much work you have to do, isn’t going to solve anything.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page